Daughters of the Stone by Dahlma Llanos-Figueroa

(Thomas Dunne Books, St. Martin’s Press, New York, 2009)

I started reading this a few months ago and was enjoying the story but family matters with my parents and children overshadowed everything.  I started re-reading a few days ago and hope to return to posting as I go along rather than when I complete the book.

The opening sentence: A gray braid falling over each shoulder, Tia Josefa stuck her head out of the window of Las Agujas, the embroiderers’ cabin located just behind the main plantation house.

Visually, I loved the gray braids over each shoulder, and the fact that there is an embroiderers’ cabin appealed to my love of just about all things involving cloth and stitch.   I’m looking forward to seeing how the novel unfolds.

Leave a comment

Filed under african american women, African Diaspora reading challenge, Daughters of the Stone, Fiction, matriarchy, plantation life, Puerto Rico

Leave a Reply

