What is 100 years? What will we change with President Obama?

A century.  Do our lives spiral to create history?  Are we destined to repeat history never having learned the lessons in order not to hold our own counsel superior to all others?  Does individualism trump communalism?  Is the existence of solitude preferrable over family, community, nation?  These are th questions that I believe Marquez asked himself when while engaged in writing this book. 

One of the excellences among many in this story is that he doesn’t answer any of the questions for the reader…but creates a story by connecting many many lives and circumstances and passions in order to convolute the answers…one woman’s right is another’s wrong and then something occurs and the script is flipped…Marquez writes without offerning judgement and without making it easy for the reader to do so either.  As much as the world was foreign to me by way of my own personal circumstances, I was quickly and comfortable drawn into a world that I missed when I finished the book.  The one thing I did make by way of judgement is that change cannot be stopped and change inevitably will have casualties and with this I’ll ask out loud “I wonder what will be the casualties of life with President Obama?”  I hope they are changes that will breath new life (energies) that affirm living at a higher plane of huma activities for the greater throughout the world.

One Hundred Years of Solitude will be a book I know I’ll re-read in the future.

2 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Story Telling

2 responses to “What is 100 years? What will we change with President Obama?

  1. one of the great classics. That book has stayed in my mind for about a decade now … so many delicious scenes, portrayals of human folly and wisdom.

    if you haven’t already, check out “Love in the Time of Cholera”. An epic love story told the way only a master storyteller can. Movie very good too!

    ggw

    • I can tell it will be one to stay with me also. I dragged out reading it, one because it gave me so much to think about and two, because I just didn’t want it to end. I really became wrapped up in the life of the story itself as if it was my own community…which speaks to the power of Marquez’s talent and gift.

      Love in the Time of Cholera is on my list. thanks.

Leave a Reply

