Clarissa Pinkola Estes

Women Who Run With Wolves is a long standing re-read and has been since its publication.  Last year I purchased one of her audio stories on relaxing prior to falling asleep. Estes has a soothing quality to her voice that allows me complete immersion into her stories.  A few months ago I checked out from the library http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0345388356/1n9867a-20  (not sure why the link function is not working).  I realized that once again I had fallen into the pattern of spending on fiber/art supplies/books as a way of compensating for the frustration and anger over not moving last year and Estes’ The Gift of Story: A Wise Tale About What Is Enough was what I needed for ushering in a more positive mind set.  I really do have more than what I need to for art making…I just need to cultivate the discipline and routine that has been missing since the winter.  I’ve actually been using my materials versus hoarding them or “saving” them for that perfect space to work in.  The Gift of Story is one that I really do want to invest in when the time is right but for now the story was told and incorporated into my daily functioning and that is truly the best thing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Spiritual Life, Story Telling

Leave a Reply

