Art is a Way of Knowing by Pat B. Allen, Shambhala Publications, 1995, 204 pages

In short summary the main assertion of this book is art, the process and the art itself, informs us about who we are.  But my short summary does not reflect how well the author has broken the process down to allow the reader to enter into her words.

I needed to read this book.  Out of powerlessness, frustration, and anger I’ve been avoiding these issues and although I’m only a few pages into this book, it is making me face and articulate my own frustrations around not being engaged in quiltmaking.

I came across this title on the blog of  Thelma Smith, http://www.thelmasmith.com/blog/2007/05/06/art-is-a-way-of-knowing/ ,and found it at my library.  It is one that I would like to add to my permanent shelves.

Here is a link to the author:

http://www.patballen.com/

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Author Links, Spiritual Life

Leave a Reply

