The Known World (cont.)

I am half way through this book and it is slow going…I keep working to find the point of it all but am quite disappointed.  My expectations of an African American author to create layers and layers of complexities and conflict given the subject have gone flat.  The promise of chaos hasn’t happened.   The characters have remained roughly sketched and cliche.  I’m always suspicious when a book as trade reviews on the cover versus that of other authors; I should have trusted my instincts.  Now, I feel compelled to finish the darn thing.

After such a dull book, I’ll need to play in color of fabric or paint (working on my first altered book) to come alive.   

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction

Leave a Reply

